Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Choosing a reproductive clinic

Choosing a reproductive clinic

Hi, everybody. I want to ask your advice what to do further… I can’t become pregnant cause of serious kidney problems. We have already consulted several doctors and all of them advised us to apply for surrogacy. I’m a resident of the UK. According to the laws a surrogate mother has all rights for the child here. In order to get entire rights for our future baby, my husband and I have decided to find a surrogate mother for our baby somewhere abroad. Actually, we decided to go to Ukraine and ask a Ukrainian woman to help us.
    Several months ago, we were in Kiev and paid a visit to a Ukrainian clinic Biotexcom. This clinic has very affordable prices for their services. In addition, we liked the fact that intended parents have entire rights to the baby, and we can just buy the services of a surrogate mother.
    We decided to contact this clinic because we have found loads of favorable feedbacks about on various fertility forums. In addition, our close Ukrainian friends advised it to us.
    However, when we came to Ukraine and visited it for the first time, we were a little bit shocked.
    Firstly, this clinic turned to be a small private villa. It was so tiny and overcrowded, that we had to wait nearly 2 hours to consult the doctor. We saw large queues nearly everywhere. In addition, we met one couple from France there. They were getting their oocyte donation program there. The husband was annoyed very much, because he had to wait nearly an hour to pick up his sperm.
    Bad organization was seen everywhere: overcrowded clinic halls, unfriendly and busy staff, tired and very formal administrators.
    The doctor whom we met spoke with us very formally. We clearly understood that she treated us like dozens of other patients.
    Of course, we didn’t sign up a contract, and now we are thinking what to do further…