Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Childcare costs etc for dummies

Blog Entries

Childcare costs etc for dummies

I'm not pregnant, firstly lol My DH works full time and I'm considering going back to full time education. All children will be in full time school. Do we have any entitlement to help should we need before or after school childcare? Also, I've never used childcare before being a SAHM, how does it work if you don't need them one day or one week, due to work/education hours not always being the same, and you being at home to care for your children over the school holidays?

I really know very little about all this, any advice or links greatly appreciated xx

mama, wife, friend, doula
    DS is 10♥ DD is 8♥ Banana Bear is 4♥ Still always broody!

Childminders are cheaper and more flexible in my experience.

Generally you will have to pay for set sessions, and if you don't need it one week you still have to pay.

Can't help with the help with costs aspect really, we get help from tax credits though

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk
    Freyja Mikaela. Born at 39 weeks, 03/04/13, 6lb 1oz

Tobyn Harry. Born at 39+4 weeks, 25/09/15, 7lb 11oz

If you use wraparound at a nursery you still have to pay at easter / christmas etc
    I'm a teacher and this bugs me! The nursery I use doesn't charge me in july or august, I just pay for days I need in those months.

I've not had great childminder experiences, but if you find a good one then you're onto a winner.
    I like using the nursery as I can 100% rely on them, I can pick up any time until 6 and it's all very straightforward!

I found a term time only childminder, which was brilliant - I still had to pay a small retainer in the school holidays, but being term time only really really helped.
    DD1 is nearly 11 years old DS is nearly 9 years old DD2 is 16 months old