Thread: Son doesn't want to go with his dad

Son doesn't want to go with his dad

What would you do if your 3 year old didn't want to go with his dad anymore? Would you not force him to go or send him off with him upset? I haven't been forcing him to go, but his dad thinks I should just let him take him even if he is upset. What would you all do? I have tried to find out what the problem is, but not getting any specific answers. Am I doing the right thing by not forcing him to go?

Just subbing to reply later, as we have been on both sides of this (my son not wanting to visit his dad, and being told that the girls didn't want to see their dad, my husband) xx

There are so many possible variables it is difficult to comment ie how often does his dad have him, for how long, are there any concerns, has it happened suddenly/gradually/one off, was your son tired/under the weather, has anything changed in your life/household or that of his dad etc etc.

I've no direct experience as such as my ex doesn't see Jessica but I've had times Jessica has got dreadfully upset and not wanted to come with me before. It's horrible and upsetting but it was tough, she had to come with me and once she was with me she was fine.

My OH has his 2 year old son (at the moment) every Tuesday, through to Wednesday 4pm and one day and night at the weekend. He cries most pick ups when OH takes him from his mum. He's stopped by the time he is in his car seat though and is always content when here. If he hurts himself/wakes at night/is poorly, he cries for daddy so although he clearly loves his mum, he is perfectly secure with his dad too.

Have you talked to your ex about your concerns? Has he taken him before when he's got upset and did he settle, how long did it take etc?

Sent from my HTC One mini using Tapatalk 2